june to july: from stressed to satisfied.

I was getting pretty stressed out in June. Life, work, relationships – it was too much, I couldn’t handle it. I knew I was doing something wrong but I didn’t know how to make it right again. I wondered where God was in the midst of it all.

Then I went into the woods.

I was not excited about this camping trip…

but now that I’m here, I wouldn’t have it any other way. 

Everything is so still, so peaceful – I can’t even remember what I was stressed out about. The world was spinning and I was losing balance, losing energy, losing sleep, losing hope…

right here, right now, nothing matters but this moment. The river in front of me, the trees surrounding me. 

I slept better on the ground, in my tent, than I have been in my comfy bed. Something to do with not setting an alarm, waking up whenever. I was still up before 9 – I think it was because I didn’t feel the need to get up. I got up because it felt right – not because I was ‘supposed to.’

Everything makes sense out here. It’s so simple.

This is how it’s supposed to be. 

Soon after I went to Guatemala with a World Race squad. I packed shorts and tank tops…fail. It was COLD and rainy. I ended up wearing the same outfit the whole time because it was the warmest thing I had.

I was with 59 strangers, but I wasn’t lonely. Not even a little bit.

I am so alive and in the moment and loving life and so happy and everything is good even though I’m wearing the same thing every day and sharing a bathroom with a gazillon women and my body hurts but I don’t care!!! With these beautiful people everything makes sense. 

I laughed and cried with them, hauled rocks and fed babies with them. We hiked volcanoes and ate street food, celebrated birthdays and sat around bonfires.

Then I had to leave. I packed up all the shorts and tanks I never wore and got on a chicken bus to Antigua. My suitcase was stolen; I was left with nothing but my purse and the clothes on my back. In the rain.

I showed up to my host home for the night – they fed me and clothed me and cared for me. I even got a toothbrush out of it.

Straight from the airport I came to the Garmons. One pair of pajama pants, three cups of tea and 24 hours later I’m still here. It’s the perfect in between.

I’m not stressed.

I don’t know what is to come – life surely isn’t slowing down and I’m not getting my stuff back. But I met God in the woods that weekend, on the mountains in Guatemala and now at the Garmons…

I can only imagine where he’ll show up next.

Picture 1

About Hope Naomi

Lover of all things tea and travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to june to july: from stressed to satisfied.

  1. Alys Seay says:

    Wow, this is beautiful:)

  2. Bethany says:

    Gosh Hope! I so admire you!!! And miss you so much! Your writing is beautiful and I can’t wait to catch up from all that’s happened this summer!

    Love you!

  3. Devin says:

    Geesh Hope You are amazing! Love your heart, and how you CHOOSE to see the good come from the bad in any situation. . . love the way you chase after Him, and how expectant you are to find Him wherever you turn. I pray you find beauty around every corner and continue to be amazed at His goodness towards you that He wants to lavish on you.
    Miss ya girl, can’t wait to see you again!

  4. Don’t forget the cupcakes and a low-key rainy afternoon. Glad that our home was available for rest and satisfaction. Inspired and delighted by the way you seek Him. <3

  5. Mary says:

    mhmmm, lovely. I’m itching to do some traveling by myself and sleep on some cold dirt. I love your writing. I think you’re fabulous!

  6. Andrew says:

    You win! You always do!

  7. WHAT THE HECK!! Awesome story!!! YES! haha. I laughed when your suitcase got stolen, was that bad of me? I mean it just seemed like the thing to do? I love you and I def miss laughing with you. HA! Good stuff Hope, it’s so dope.

  8. Joe Wishon says:

    YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Speak it Hope!!!

    You’re awesome!

  9. jillyfish87 says:

    every time… you make me smile! xoxo :)

Leave a Reply

