rainy sundays and other fine things in life.

This morning I woke up to rain.

tumblr_maywah5cZo1rfp1lho1_500

I love waking up to rain, especially when I have no where to go that day. How often does that happen? Not often enough… which makes me appreciate it even more.

I rolled out of bed in pajama pants that are too big (aka perfect) and made some chai tea and raisin toast.

Then I sat on the couch most of the day. I had a work call. I looked up recipes for the week and read Divergent (…just started yesterday. I knew I would eventually cave; I always do.)

Around noon my roommates and I broke bread together (waffles.) Later in the day I went grocery shopping and visited a friend in the hospital – she had a baby yesterday.

In just a few weeks there will be a baby living in my house (married roommates are prego.) Kinda crazy.

Life has been slow and I’ve been loving it.

bigstock_woman_relaxing_on_grass_field__12155456

I started taking gym classes at the end of February – boot camp, kickboxing, weight lifting, “ride & glide” (spin class), barre assets and of course yoga. The day after my first class I could barely walk. My body felt like 1000 pounds of pain when I got out of bed. I limped down the stairs at work and when I was in Starbucks I used the handicap rail to help me sit down on the toilet. I was sore in places I didn’t know existed. It was bad. And I loved it.

istock-tired-woman1

I was actually like that the whole first week. Limping, grimacing, picking outfits that were minimal effort to put on.

But now I’m golden – barely sore after class. Basically an Olympian.

alyweb8s-1-web

I come home from the gym and cook dinner with my roommate Bethany almost every night. Curried butternut squash soup, salmon with brown sugar & mustard glaze, tofu tacos with goat cheese, asian dumpling soup, quinoa with mushrooms, kale & sweet potato, blackened tilapia with buttered carrots, etcetera etcetera (God Bless Real Simple magazine.)

tumblr_mk7r58uvL61rm3ie5o1_500

After gym, dinner and dishes I go to my room around 9pm. I’ve been having some sweet times with the Lord – sprawling out on my bed or floor and allowing his presence to give me rest. A wise woman named Rozy recently told me I could either wrestle with God or rest with him. I’ve been wrestling for too long; I’ve worn myself out. It’s time to rest. But rest, of course, is still an active choice.

And then I read. Mansfield Park by Jane Austen, The Fault in Our Stars by John Green, Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? by Mindy Kaling and Divergent by Veronica Roth. One at a time, of course. I’m not one of those people who can master multiple books at once.

books

I will say this: going from Jane Austen to John Green gave me whiplash. I went from sentences like this:

This would be the way to Fanny’s heart. She was not to be won by all that gallantry and wit and good-nature together could do; or, at least, she would not be won by them nearly so soon, without the assistance of sentiment and feeling, and seriousness on serious subjects.

to this…

He responded a few minutes later.
Okay.
I wrote back.
Okay.
He responded:
Oh, my God, stop flirting with me!

Yes, please…stop. (I think I’ll like the movie better.)

One of the reasons I got off Facebook is because I wanted to spend more time on things I value, like reading. After deactivating Facebook I found myself checking email a lot, which is kind of like gnawing on nicotine gum after quitting cigarettes.

But now I forget about the Internet as soon as I leave work. It doesn’t even cross my mind until I’m back at the office the following morning. I used to wake up and check Facebook, then I woke up and checked email, now I just wake up.

facebook-Are-you-a-Facebook-addict-Test-and-find-outI rarely touch my computer at home, which is why I haven’t blogged in a month.

Overall, I’ve been pretty hermit-y. My weekends are often spent in yoga pants and boyfriend tees, eating leftovers and watching old Carey Grant movies.

I wouldn’t have it any other way.

I’m in a season of valuable, but small and I’m soaking up every second.

Now, back to Divergent. 

b8b6393081fddc5e167321c25ebedee7

About Hope Naomi

Lover of all things tea and travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to rainy sundays and other fine things in life.

  1. Alys Seay says:

    Hope, I love you and your life:)

  2. Bill Swan says:

    I love seeing you unplug from things that seem like “life” so that you can live fully alive!

  3. christina y says:

    I’m a fan, hope. A biiiiiiiig fan. Hope to see ya at the carnes wedding!

Leave a Reply

