attack of the WORM MONSTERRRR! and other stuff.

The other day I went to Starbucks, and while I was there a man pulled out his prayer mat and began kneeling and praying right there in the middle of everything. I thought he was so cool.

In other news, my life has been really exciting lately. I’m 99% sure I have a parasite, and I’m pretty sure I’ve had it since May. I’ve been to the hospital twice – once at the end of May, and once again in June, but the doctors didn’t seem to think my bowel movements were a pressing issue. I should mention that both of these hospital visits took place in Thailand, and the doctors thought I was just eating too much spicy food, or something. 

So it’s been three months, and I’m beginning to have nightmares that my parasite is growing into this gigantic worm that will eat me from the inside out. I’ve heard stories – stories of a parasite being pulled out of a guy’s foot, but he felt the tug in his shoulder, because the parasite was so long and so coiled up and around his body. Gag me. No really, please. 

I haven’t gone to the doctor in the States because they’re freaking expensive, and my mom is a doctor, so I’ve asked her to help me. At first she was giving me something that wasn’t doing any good, but she did some more research and found this prescription that should do away with my worm monster. The only problem is this prescription, apparently, has all kinds of horrible side effects, like depression and nausea and sleep issues and everything in between. But my mom thinks she found a way to prevent all that – I’m really hoping she’s right. At least I only have to take the drug for ten days…

Other exciting news: I’ve given up antiperspirant. Again. I tried to give it up last summer, but then I went to a party and danced my little heart out to Michael Jackson and afterward I didn’t smell very pretty. So I caved and started using it again. It was probably a good idea – especially because I went on the World Race, where I spent six months drowning in my own sweat. But now that I’m back in the States, I’m reclaiming my stance against antiperspirant (I suppose that makes me anti-antiperspirant, lol.) Antiperspirant contains aluminum, which is a toxic chemical. Aluminum is linked to Alzheimer’s disease, and let’s be honest, I don’t want to end up like Ronald Reagan. 

So I’ve started using this really great antiperspirant-free deodorant that works wonders. The first day I wore it I went to the Ohio State Fair – the perfect way to test it out. I was outside in the sun and I was sweating. But by the end of the day I didn’t really smell. 

….I think it’s funny that the brand is called “Kiss My Face.” Um, no thank you. 

Besides the worm monster living inside of me and the new deodorant I’m using, there isn’t much else to mention. I’m going to Nashville tomorrow, so hopefully that will provide me with some blog-worthy material. 

Enjoy your Friday!

About Hope Naomi

Lover of all things tea and travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to attack of the WORM MONSTERRRR! and other stuff.

  1. Lindsay says:

    Wish they carried “Kiss my face” in Arkansas. My Mom had Alzheimer’s, Hope. Interesting facts about aluminum being toxic and a cause. Hope you start feeling better soon. Glad your Mom can be of some help.

  2. chelseakim says:

    i love you wish we could blog about how we hang out every day.

Leave a Reply

