hanging out.

My last few days in Nashville were, of course, lovely. My friend Jenny came down from Louisville to visit for the weekend. Before going to bed on Friday night I told her she could have the comfy couch (where I had experienced many blissful nights of sleep – I love couches!!) and I would take the futon mattress on the floor. I was sad to be losing the couch, but even more sad to be sleeping so far away from Jenny. We rarely get to see each other, so when we do I want to spend every sleeping moment next to her. As I was getting under the covers on the futon mattress Jenny said from across the room, “Um…what if I slept there with you?” 

It worked out perfectly, because the following morning we slept until ten, and then we stayed in bed (or should I say ‘on mattress’) until two. It was just one of those perfect lazy Saturday’s. We ate cake for breakfast and only got up when we had to go to the bathroom. 

Eventually Raphe coaxed us to get up because he was hungry. I’m pretty sure if it wasn’t for him, we would’ve stayed there all day. We went to a Mexican restaurant, which only reaffirmed the fact that I don’t like Mexican food. But sometimes I have to pretend to like it because everyone else is so obsessed with it, and I don’t want to lose any friends. 

After that we went to one of the best used bookstore’s I’ve ever been to. It also had CDs and movies. I couldn’t stayed forever. I found the Hope Floats on VHS for 25 cents, so that was pretty exciting. Want to know the truth? I’ve never seen it. I blame my parents; they did their best to keep me sheltered. 

I think I never really wanted to see it because I was told it was evil (obviously), but also because when I was older I probably thought it was lame. It wasn’t until my friend Brandy told me about the time she had a crisis of faith, and she drove up to a snowy cabin for a weekend by herself. While she was there she yelled at God and watched Hope Floats. After I heard that story I wanted to see it. And after I floated in the Dead Sea, of course. 

Anywoooo. Jenny bought the first season of Gilligan’s Island on DVD, and I knew again that we were meant to be friends, because I adore Gilligan’s Island. It was one of the few shows I was actually allowed to watch when I was growing up, and I was obsessed. I know all this random trivia about the show and the actors and I was really sad when I heard that Mary Ann was arrested for the possession of marijuana a few years back. I mean, if it was Ginger I would’ve understood. But Mary Ann? You were supposed to be the good one!

At night Raphe taught Jenny and I how to play Magic. I wore a Snuggie when we played so that was pretty cool – I looked like a wizard – but then I learned that you don’t actually role play with Magic (…I guess that’s Dungeons and Dragons?) Magic is basically a strategic card game, but it’s so much more than that. It’s an experience. It’s a lifestyle. I’m just dabbling at the moment, but we’ll see what happens. When cards like “worldgorger dragon” and “goblin ringleader” are involved, I find it a difficult game to resist. Jenny and I felt like we were taking part in a Lord of the Rings battle, and we were nervous to lose. We were also hoping we’d have crazy dreams when we fell asleep, but that didn’t happen.

Confession: I wouldn’t be opposed to larping (live action role play ‘ing). My next step toward this goal is to watch Monster Camp, a documentary that follows the lives of people who dress up as warriors and monsters and re-enact battles. I was friends with a few of these people in college, and one of them said that if I went to their battle practice on Saturday he would go to church with me on Sunday. I was never able to go, and now I’m pretty bummed about that. 

See! I could be like these girls. 

Almost.

About Hope Naomi

Lover of all things tea and travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to hanging out.

  1. chelseakim says:

    i love larping and i love mexican food but most of all i love you.

  2. marissavilla says:

    If you ever visit me we don’t have to eat Mexican food. Even if this is the home of Mexican food. I love talking to you on the phone and reading your blog. And I love you.

  3. Robin says:

    A good friend of mine LARPS and for some reason I’ve always REALLY wanted to do it! He gets really into it. I think my plans was always to hide in a tree and jump down on people, haha. He said someone would seriously hurt me and he couldn’t in good conscience take me to a LARPing game. Oh, well.

    Also, are you wearing a Snuggie in your picture? MAN I MISS YOU!!!

Leave a Reply

