same ole stuff i always write about.

Yesterday I started taking another antibiotic, this one to treat the bacteria infection I had along with my parasite. True to style, this antibiotic had me writhing on my bed in pain today. When I combine this with all the nausea I experienced from my last antibiotic, sometimes I feel like I’m in the first trimester of pregnancy. I know five pregnant ladies right now, and they’re always mentioning their nausea. Next time one of them brings it up I’m going to pat my stomach and say, “Oh girrrrl, I know how you feel.” Because really, I do have something growing inside of me. Also sometimes I crave weird things, like baby carrots.

The funny thing is that my family believes they will catch my parasite/bacteria infection if they eat or drink after me. I thought it was a joke at first, but they aren’t kidding in the least. Today I was eating lunch with my dad, and I asked if he wanted to finish the rest of my wrap. He stared at me for a long while before saying, “I don’t want to get infected.” Like I’m one of those zombies from 28 Days Later, or something. I told him my parasite wasn’t living in my mouth, that it wasn’t dancing around in my saliva (how gross would that be?) He ended up taking the wrap, but he refused to eat near where I had. Seriously?

In other news, I’m pretty excited about my Teach for America interview (which is a week from today!) For a few days I was really stressed out because I was reading all these blogs about other people’s final interviews. They would describe the interview day in detail, and that alone made me want to freak out. And then their next blog entry would always be about how they didn’t get it. On top of that, I still hadn’t come up with an idea for my 5-minute lesson plan. God kept saying, “Don’t worry,” but I kept saying, “But you don’t understand – I’m not good enough for this!” And he would say, exactly. If you get in, it’s not because you’re awesome. And if you don’t get it, it’s not because you suck. Still try your best, but know that this one is on me.

So basically I can’t lose, which takes the pressure off, and I’m finally living with that belief again. Also, I have a really cute skirt to wear to my interview. So that helps.

I came up with a lesson plan – I’m going to teach 3rd grade students how to address a letter. I’m really passionate about snail mail, so this is something I should be able to teach well. The recipient of our letters will be a Disney World character, but I’m going to make up the address because the literal address for Disney World is pretty complicated (1675 N Buena Vista Dr., Lake Buena Vista, FL 32830) How about 1000 Disney World Dr., Orlando, Florida? Yeah, much better. And we’re going to use stickers for stamps. It will be a party indeed.

Tomorrow is my last day at home before I depart for Georgia – it will be spent packing, preparing for my interview and getting a cavity filled. Don’t judge me…I already have to deal with the fact that my picture won’t be posted on the Cavity-Free Kid’s Club bulletin board. Also, I really do miss when I was a kid and having a cavity wouldn’t put me out $160. What can I say…it’s a hard-knock life.

About Hope Naomi

Lover of all things tea and travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to same ole stuff i always write about.

  1. marissavilla says:

    Now I want baby carrots.

    And, sometimes, I feel really old when I read certain stuff. Like your tumblr post about taxes. I’ve been doing my own taxes for forever it seems like! I’m an old woman!!!! 😦

  2. shanaynegans says:

    When I read the Buena Vista Dr. address I got excited for .2 seconds and though Oooh Home!

  3. Liz Baker says:

    Okay, this may be totally weird and just like voodoo medicine or something, BUT I have this book called “The Complete Cancer Cleanse”. It has all these different cleanses in it, but one of them is for parasites. I mean, I read the book a long time ago, and it has some pretty compelling arguments and stories. I don’t know…it might be worth a try versus the horror of being on such strong antibiotics. Which of course can wreak their own havoc on your digestive system.

Leave a Reply

