i find out tomorrow if i’ll ever teach for america or not.

“It’s hard to say what exactly I’ll be doing after [going to Asia.] Maybe I’ll stay. Maybe I’ll go to Africa and bring hope to the child soldiers. Maybe I’ll come back to the United States and join Teach for America, a nonprofit organization that works to ensure educational opportunity in our county’s poorest communities.”

– An excerpt from a column I wrote for my student newspaper more than two and a half years ago.

I googled myself the other night and found this. I was surprised – I didn’t remember writing about Teach for America. The column was titled “Life After College” – it was about what I was planning on doing after college, obviously.

And now the time has come. After years of entertaining the idea in my mind, after hours and days and months of praying, after reading all the books and talking with people who have done it, after emailing a representative before I got a tattoo to see if it was okay, after actually applying and making it through to the final interview…I will finally find out if TFA feels the same way I feel about them.

If they don’t like me back, I’ll probably cry in a ball on the floor and eat ice cream for a week.

But I don’t really see that happening. For the last two and a half weeks since my final interview, the peace of God has fallen over me. And I know. I know that I’ll be accepted because this is what God has spoken over me. I know that I’ll be accepted because I was soaked in all your prayers the day of my final interview.

What I don’t know, however, is where I’ll be placed. And that’s what I’m desperately curious to discover. Recently I’ve been wanting to be placed in Charlotte, North Carolina, so that’s what I’ve been praying for. And you know what? I think God will give it to me. I’m not as sure about this one, but I know that the Bible says: “if you sinful people know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your heavenly Father give good gifts to those who ask him?” So yeah. Here’s to good gifts!

TFA says we will find out after 8 p.m. tomorrow. I don’t really believe them, because they said the same thing after the first application deadline – and I received an email from them around noon.

I don’t want to be home checking my email all day, so I’ve decided to spend the afternoon with some friends. First I’ll be meeting Julia Roberts at the dollar theater, and after that I’ll meet Sylvia Plath at a coffee shop. Like I said before…I have a lot of friends.

If you don’t hear from me tomorrow night, you can be certain that I’m drowning in tears and ice cream. Of course you can be sure that I’ll let everyone and their mother know when I’ve been accepted…

until then!

About Hope Naomi

Lover of all things tea and travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to i find out tomorrow if i’ll ever teach for america or not.

  1. Rothman says:

    I was at work this morning and got sooo pumped for you thinking “Hope finds out about TFA tomorrow..” and I screamed a little and got awkward stares from my coworkers 🙂
    (a normal happening for me…)

    anywho.. im soooo pumped to hear tomorrow and am continuing to pray for you missy!!!!!!!! much much love.

  2. chelseakim says:

    ah. nothing like sylvia plath to raise your spirits.

  3. Aaron says:

    Well?? What did they say?

Leave a Reply

