farewell, christmas.

It’s barely 10 p.m. and I’m fighting sleep. The heat from the nearby fireplace only adds to my drowsiness. I tried reading a book but now I’m on the computer. My brothers are playing video games and my sister is jamming to Owl City.

The end of another Christmas.

It was…weird. This was the first year my family has been together on Christmas since 2006. Not only that – this year we had some new additions: my brother-in-law William and my niece Marie Blessing. Next year we’ll be joined by my nephew, who is currently ripening in my sister’s belly.

Change often happens gradually, but sometimes I find myself stopping and wondering, “Wait, when did this happen!?” And then life goes on.

We ate cinnamon rolls, we opened presents, we played games. My family loves Balderdash, and rightly so – it’s a brilliant game. We laughed until we cried. We made a mess and we cleaned up. We fought and took naps. We listened to The Carpenters, like we always do.

Tomorrow we’ll wake up and resume our normal lives. Now that Christmas is over it’s go time for me. Thirteen days until I leave Ohio – I’ve stopped cleaning my room because I’m going to pack it up soon. I have a list of things to get done before I leave – many of them are time consuming. Every second counts.

10: 30 p.m. – brothers still playing video games, sister now playing Sufjan. I haven’t decided if I’m going to bed yet.

About Hope Naomi

Lover of all things tea and travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to farewell, christmas.

  1. Shannon says:

    I am so excited for you to be going to Nicaragua, but the one thing I’m going to HATE the most is not reading your blogs as often 😦

Leave a Reply

