the days go by.

It’s one of those nights when I want to write, but I have no idea what I even want to say. It’s been a crazy week or so since my last blog. One of my girls fainted and suffered a concussion; the next day another girl split her foot open and had to get stitches at the hospital we visit weekly. Today was hotter than usual– the heat left us drained and exhausted.

But nothing can stop us – we will not stop running, pushing, fighting for more.

I’ve laughed harder than I have in a while – I don’t even recognize my laugh when I laugh that hard. It’s a deep laughter, one that reaches the depths of my soul and makes me feel healed from the inside out.

I’ve prayed more passionately – my words fill the air with desperation. Every night Alisa and I walk and pray outside; one night we saw a shooting star and it took our breath away. We see our prayers coming to life – falling from the heavens like shooting stars, leaving us speechless and eager for more.

A week ago we all encountered the Spirit of God; something shifted and we haven’t been the same since. We’ve made commitments and sacrifices that are contrary to who we are, to who we’ve been in the past. Fasting from food, breaking up with boyfriends, confronting the ugly areas of our lives. We are dying to ourselves and birthing into new creations. It hurts and sometimes we cry, but we know that it is good.

I’m happy where I am, though the days are not necessarily eventful. As one of my girls said last night, “Life doesn’t need to be dramatic in order for it to be significant.” We live through our days sweating and smiling – visiting families in the barrios, singing to old people at the retirement home, stumbling over Spanish and eating lots and lots of rice. Before we know it a week has gone by. The days run together and all of a sudden it’s March.

Sometimes I find myself daydreaming about the future, but then I stop and remind myself that this is my life right now and I don’t want to miss it.

I don’t know what else to say except…

I love my girls. I love my life. I love my God.

About Hope Naomi

Lover of all things tea and travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to the days go by.

  1. Shannon says:

    I love my Hope!!! I am so glad you are still blogging. My life would be less colorful without it!

  2. marissavilla says:

    I love my Hope, too! And I feel like I haven’t heard from you in years. I’m e-mailing you as soon as possible. I want to hear more!

  3. shanaynegans says:

    I love my Hope, three!!!!

  4. Aubrey says:

    “Life doesn’t need to be dramatic in order for it to be significant.”
    Your girls are brilliant. I’m adopting this for my thought of the week… it’s definately something I’ve been struggling with and it’s a good reminder of the signficance of the little things.
    Love you much and praying for you guys!

Leave a Reply

