my life as a movie…kinda.

Okay so, I know pretty much everyone thinks Nicholas Cage is annoying and the worst actor ever…but I’ll admit, I kind of find him endearing. Have you seen Adaptation? C’mon, good movie. And Matchstick Men? He has his moments.

Now that all the Nicholas Cage haters have judged me, I might as well come clean. A few weeks ago I watched The Family Man with one of my girls. Hey, we have slim movie pickings here. It was between that and a Zac Efron movie. And also…maybe I kinda wanted to watch it.

Basically, Nicholas Cage gets the opportunity to see what his life would be like if he had married his college sweetheart instead of dumping her to become a wealthy businessman. Blah blah blah he comes back to reality and is forever changed.

I’m such a sucker for stuff like that. I’m really intrigued by what makes people change. The way that I see it, most people are resistant to change. Change is often uncomfortable. When people do change it rarely happens overnight – it’s usually a gradual process. There are, however, rare occasions when people do change suddenly. When that happens I’m obsessed with knowing what exactly prompted their immediate transformation.

I’m happy to say I recently experienced one of those overnight changes; I had my own Nicholas Cage moment (…jealous?) I’ve already written about it – I was at a farewell ceremony and saw a glimpse into what it would look like when I said goodbye if things stayed the way they were. I didn’t like it. And so I decided to change.

Now that it’s a few days later, I’m surprised at how much I actually have changed. I feel like a different person. Nearly all my decisions are different. Also, it’s pretty amazing to me how much one person’s adjustment can affect an entire group. But then again, I guess it makes sense since I am the leader.

Leading…more on that later. I have a lot to say about it – I feel like I’m learning how to lead for the first time. Even though I’ve been in leadership positions for as long as I can remember.

But anyway. There is a family who lives in the back corner of our compound. For a while I’ve wanted to spend more time with them, but I’ve only ever thought about it. After the farewell party I decided to do something about it. On Sunday night we carried our dinner over to eat with them. It was so much fun.

As we were sitting there I thought about Uganda, when I struggled to survive through each day. I would collapse into bed every night and listen to Pastor Johnson’s family sing outside my window. I always wanted to join them, but I never did. I really regret that now.

Thankfully, I am learning. By the grace of God I am growing, changing, transforming. We ate with the family again last night, and we are going to tonight as well.

I keep thinking about The Family Man and how, on a smaller scale, a glimpse has changed my life. So yeah, Nicholas, I feel you.

                  

About Hope Naomi

Lover of all things tea and travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to my life as a movie…kinda.

  1. jolie says:

    te extrano mucho!!!

    I suppose you haven’t learned that my new home will be Columbus come June 🙂 I want to talk to yooooooou

  2. Jeff Goins says:

    Love that movie (Family Man).

  3. Shannon says:

    My mom and dad loved that movie 🙂 So it’s kinda special…. Kind special like YOU, who is hella special.

  4. chelseakim says:

    i knew you were my best friend. i like nicholas cage too. haha.

  5. nick says:

    cool thoughts. i find the process of change intriguing as well. i personally have changed drastically over the last three years. in fact, at times it’s gotten certain people concerned (like my family). at the core, what changed was my beliefs in what is really important in life. then, as an outworking of my beliefs changing, my decisions started changing, which in turn impacted my actions, and that affected my attitudes.

    there were several beliefs that changed, but most significant was that people are important, and investing in them is worthwhile. also, that a simple lifestyle was worth pursuing. also, that i’m going to heaven when i die, so taking risks for things i feel worth fighting for is not dumb.

    but i would like to – humbly – point out one correction from your post: nicolas cage is spelled without an “h”! i noticed this because my name is “nicolas” without an “h” too. people have been spelling it wrong my entire life. i remember in 1st grade my teacher made a nametag for me spelled with an “h.” i requested a new one, which she did, but it too was spelled with an “h”. nothing much has changed over the years, my current employer spelled it wrong on my work badge.

    fyi, “nicolas” is the biblical spelling, and comes from one of the seven deacons who was a convert from Antioch.

    fwiw, i like nicolas cage too. i liked the first national treausre movie.

    anyways, thanks for sharing your thoughts, you made me think.

Leave a Reply

