and….action!

It’s safe to say I can turn any situation into a music video…if only in my head. And it wouldn’t be wrong for you to assume I have multiple music videos choreographed for my boyfriend and me to film one day. Oh man, having a boyfriend is going to be so much fun.

But I’m not here to talk about boys. Right now I live with eight other girls – we are everything for each other during these sweaty days in Nicaragua. I can’t tell you how many music videos have played through my head since coming here. LOTS.

I had a simple idea a few weeks ago that I recently brought to life. I took my girls one by one and placed them in front of various walls in town. I gave them very little direction – I basically said I was going to film them for 20 seconds…so do whatever during that time. There was no music. Just me, my camera, a wall and each girl. At this point I wasn’t even sure what song I was going to use, though I did have an Ingrid Michaelson one in mind.

When I came back to my room and started putting the clips together I noticed that nearly every girl (myself included) shrugs her shoulders, laughs nervously or just looks a little uncomfortable. Something about being in front of the camera made us all a little more insecure, a little more raw. I thought that was beautiful.

The song I ended up using may be cheesy, but I believe it to be oh-so true…

About Hope Naomi

Lover of all things tea and travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to and….action!

  1. erin says:

    yes, another great one hoperific. keep being you. 🙂

  2. jolie says:

    This made me SO happy!!! I loved them all but especially girl #3.

  3. jolie says:

    also I LOVE the end where its so clear your just fake laughing and then you go, “no its perfect”

    I MISS YOU DEARLY

  4. jolie says:

    You probably got excited that you had like six comments, but it’s just me being annoying SORRY

    ok I’m really done 🙂

  5. realpinkjulz says:

    thanks for sharing that…it was so much fun to watch. I love how everyone smiled during it though! SO MUCH FUN!

  6. shanaynegans says:

    So cool!

Leave a Reply

