it’s almost over.

I think I broke my butt. Yesterday we rented bikes; today we can’t stop limping. The adventure was worth it though. It usually is.

We only have a few days left here in Nicaragua – we’re spending them on the Isle of Ometepe for our final debrief. As we biked around the island yesterday I felt so alive, so myself. It was a difficult ride – sweat and sunscreen melted off our bodies. I could feel my face burning red. And like I said, that bike seat violated me something fierce. I hope I’m still able to give birth.

We stopped to eat by the lake and drink smoothies under a hut. We dipped our feet in the water and lay out in our sports bras. We ventured through the woods to find a lagoon. We marveled at the big, beautiful volcano in front of us. We took pictures, spelling out l-o-v-e with our bodies.

    

Today we went to a natural spring. It was so fresh and cool – exactly what we needed after our hot and tiring expedition yesterday. I lay in a hammock and swung off a rope into the water and placed an order for tacos as I floated.

My life is a bit surreal right now.

On Sunday we said goodbye to our Nicaraguan friends and families – I didn’t cry. Everyone else cried. Why didn’t I cry? Honestly, I think I was a bit shocked. So much was happening around me and so many tears were being shed and I just stood there, hugging people and feeling slightly numb. I’m sure it will hit me later and I’ll experience that familiar ache in my stomach – the one I get when I truly, deeply miss someone/the way things used to be. I hate that ache. But I also love it, because it acknowledges that I’ve been blessed with meaningful seasons and relationships.

My girls and I talk about going home, about the end of all this and the beginning of our new lives…but we usually feel like we’re talking about a movie or somebody else’s life. It just doesn’t feel real.

The future, this summer, is full of promise – road trips, weddings, moving to Georgia, developing relationships, embarking on a new chapter of life.

As this journey ends, another one sets off.

And so the cycle continues.

About Hope Naomi

Lover of all things tea and travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to it’s almost over.

  1. shanaynegans says:

    “I hate that ache. But I also love it, because it acknowledges that I’ve been blessed with meaningful seasons and relationships.”

    I love that. Such a good way to rethink the aches I feel about “How things used to be”. Thinking of them as being blessed. Awesome! You’re awesome. Love the love pic.

    Bikes are rough. I feel the same way after I ride mechanical bulls.

  2. dan says:

    i echo bull riders comment…thanks for interpreting that pain in a positive way, it’s so true!

    glad youre coming back…and glad you had this opportunity! you blessed a lotta people while you were out there, good for you!

  3. marissa says:

    i just had one of those aches not only after reading your blog, but dan’s comment…calling shayna bull rider. haha. i miss yall. i’m excited to see what god does for you next…

Leave a Reply

