uhhhhh???

Currently: I’m a mess.

A good mess, I think. I hope.

I’m overwhelmed in every good way (…and some bad ways, too.) Since coming home from Nicaragua I’ve been go-go-go. I haven’t been able to process anything since like May 9 – a lot has happened since then. When I don’t process I stop functioning, or something. My friend Anna recently told me that she admires how I process everything. At the time I was honored, but right now I’m annoyed. Why do I have to process everything? Why can’t I just let life happen? If I don’t process (aka write everything down) it feels like all these thoughts and feelings are stuck inside my brain, taking up space and struggling to get out. There’s a pretty big fight going on in my head right now. I don’t know where to begin, where to end, so I just ignore the battle, put on some lipgloss and keep going. What else is a girl to do?

I went to a wedding in D.C. this weekend. While I was gone it was as if time stopped – I was present in every moment. Nothing from the past or future haunted me, I don’t think. Now I’m back in Ohio and have to face the fact that I’m leaving for Georgia on Wednesday.

New things usually don’t scare me – they thrill me. Going to college at 18, working at camp in California at 20, flying to India by myself at 22, joining the World Race at 23, leading a trip to Nicaragua at 24. Now I’m 25 and I’m moving to Georgia and I’m terrified.

I don’t know why I’m so scared. Well, maybe I do.

I don’t have a bed. I don’t have full financial support. I don’t know exactly what I’ll be doing. I don’t know if I’ll like it. I don’t know how long I’ll be there. I don’t know who my “safe” people will be…

I’m [kinda] tired of making new friends. I’m [kinda] ready for a husband. But I’m still [very] afraid of boys – even though I want their attention. Will I ever get it right?

The LORD continues to remind me that he has always taken care of me – so why do I still fret? Because I don’t fully trust him, I guess. I don’t fully trust him because I don’t know him. I thought I did…and then a few weeks ago everything I knew about God was destroyed. It was a good thing, but now I’m kinda left here like, “Uhhhhhh???”

As I drifted into sleep the night all my perceptions were destroyed, I prayed, “God, please put me in more positions where I have to trust you – places where I absolutely won’t make it if you don’t show up.” I was half asleep and teary-eyed and surprised to hear myself say such a ludicrous thing. It seems that unfortunately fortunately God heard me and is answering my prayer.

We’ll see what happens.

About Hope Naomi

Lover of all things tea and travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to uhhhhh???

  1. Lindsay says:

    Praying for you, Hope. I know the Lord has you in the palm of His hand. Moving to a new place is rough but I know the Lord is faithful to provide for all your needs. A verse that has meant much to me over the years. Faithful is He who called you who also will do it. ITh. 5:24.

Leave a Reply

