it’s a wonderful life.

The sunset was beautiful tonight – the the perfect ending to a fabulous weekend. It was a weekend full of youth and life. Swimming with my clothes on during a late Friday night pool party, eating chocolate chip pancakes on a lazy Saturday morning, watching a movie followed by a board game on a chill Sunday afternoon.

I had my fair share of deep conversations and laughs and alone time. I ate too much junk food. Not any alcohol. I burned an old letter from an old love in the kitchen sink late one night. My roommates cheered me on and then one of them shared her own burning story (…she burned her boyfriend’s letterman jacket and nearly caught the backyard on fire because of it. Now that’s hardcore.)

Officially, I have one roommate. But there are three other girls who have been living here somewhat long term. They bring so much life into the apartment and I’ll be sad when they leave. This morning we sat silently together – two of us at the kitchen table, one on the couch, one on the chair and one on the floor – we listened to Explosions in the Sky as we read, wrote, painted. Some of my favorite moments with people are when we do things separately, yet together.

And then there’s the special moments when we do things together, together. Last night we all climbed on my bed – we were hyper and half asleep, hitting each other with pillows. No, we weren’t in our underwear.

There are so many details I left out, but it’s late Sunday night and I’m tired. All in all, this weekend made me especially happy to be young and single and alive.

About Hope Naomi

Lover of all things tea and travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to it’s a wonderful life.

  1. shanaynegans says:

    I love it

  2. marissavilla says:

    Your blog was automatically saved on my work computer from the last time I worked here. I read it more than I did work-related sites. Oopsie.

Leave a Reply

