life is one big fat surprise party.

Lately I’ve been thinking a lot about this time last year. But then again, what’s new. I always do this. The comparison of my current life to the year before never ceases to amaze me.

To live is so startling it leaves little time for anything else.

Emily Dickinson once said that, and I couldn’t agree more. She describes exactly how I feel about life. If you don’t see me with an intensely confused, bewildered look upon my face (i.e. furrowed brows with my mouth hanging open), it’s because I’m hiding it. All the time. What can I say, that acting class in high school really paid off.

Last year on August 27 I found out I was accepted to the final interview with Teach for America. I screamed and jumped up and down and wrote a blog about how I felt like I had just gotten engaged…that’s how excited I was. I believed with all my heart that Teach for America was my fate for the next few years.

One year later: I’m living in Gainesville, Georgia and working for Adventures in Missions. Not exactly what I planned.

But you know what? This is better.

A few days before my final interview in October I wrote in my diary, “Sometimes I wonder why I don’t just work at AIM forever and ever…”

Ha. Famous last words. Two weeks later I was rejected from TFA – two weeks and one day later I was committed to work at AIM.

Here I am now, loving life more than I knew was possible.

This time last year I didn’t have a job or many nearby friends, so I spent my time blogging. This year I’m so busy with a job and friends that blogging isn’t making the cut most of the time. Funny how that works.

I can only imagine where I’ll be next year. Don’t get me wrong – my plan is to be in Gainesville/working at AIM, but I’m sure everything will be radically different. It always is. And I think I’m okay with that.

About Hope Naomi

Lover of all things tea and travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to life is one big fat surprise party.

  1. shanaynegans says:

    You’re the sauce to my noodles.

  2. marissavilla says:

    I remember talking to you on the phone after the TFA rejection and talking about how whatever was coming was going to be better. I remember where I was sitting and remember eating pickles because it was Tuesday. Anyway, so glad it is better than stinkin’ TFA.

  3. hilary says:

    Re: the first paragraph – Wow…I do the same thing. It’s so nice to hear that someone else does that every year!

Leave a Reply

