so…october.

The time has come for me to wring out my swimsuit and embrace all things fall. Already this week I’ve had pumpkin cheesecake and pumpkin pancakes. Skinny jeans and shoes are slowly replacing shorts and flip flops. I guess this means summer is really over…

what confuses me, however, is that it’s still sunny and 70s (sometimes 80s) down here. The weather calls for a pool day, but the season does not. It seems like I should lay out, but at the same time it would feel wrong to do – like I was going against nature, or something.

I need to let summer go. It was a good one this year – as it always is:

(...not photoshopped.)

       

It was a summer on the go – Columbus, Washington D.C. Louisville, Nasvhille, Seattle, Chicago, Cleveland, Atlanta. 

A summer of new beginnings – I turned 25 and moved down South. I made new friends and saw old ones get married. 

When I think of this summer I’ll remember listening to Adele in my car and reading John Steinbeck by the pool.

And now it’s fall, I guess. I don’t really know when it happened…but I have to be okay with it. Everyone loves fall, but I’m a summer girl through and through. As Shauna Niequist says, “when you fall-lovers get all excited about apple picking or football games or pumpkin spice lattes, all I see is NO MORE SUMMER. And in my opinion, those quintessential fall things pale in comparison to summer. Boots? I prefer sandals. Apple pie? I’d choose strawberry shortcake any day. Pumpkin spice latte? JUST GIVE ME SUMMER BACK!”

Amen, sister. Amen.

And now, I should go to bed.

Goodbye, Summer….you will be missed (at least by me and my girl Shauna.)

About Hope Naomi

Lover of all things tea and travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to so…october.

  1. jolie says:

    but…. you’re from OHIO! 🙂

    When I read that Shauna N. post I immediately thought of how much you were probably loving it and resonating with it. Made me smile 🙂

    I love and miss you friend!

  2. Holland says:

    its funny you write this…just this morning I was thinking about how you are made for the summer. i couldnt even imagine you in winter clothes…maybe because i’ve only even known you in the summer?? who knows, but i love it!

  3. marissavilla says:

    I don’t like fall either. Even if our falls are in the 90s. Shauna is my hero.

  4. you make me laugh 🙂

Leave a Reply

