happy christmas eve.

It’s one of those nights where I have a ton on my mind but my fingers are frozen – the computer screen stares back at me, waiting ever so patiently. I’m getting over myself and attempting one of those free style posts – I just turned on Pandora, so maybe that will help. The first song reminds me of a guy I liked earlier this year. My heart kind of winced when I heard it but I decided to leave it on. Must be victorious.

Today I went Christmas shopping with my 15-year-old brother. He has braces and glasses and is clearly going through adolescence, but he is taller than me so I wondered if people thought he was my boyfriend. I remember when I wondered if people thought he was my son. WEIRD.

We were at Best Buy and I was asking an employee if they had the Fleet Foxes album when I heard my name with a question mark, “Hope?” I turned and saw a bearded man looking at me curiously. My brain did a quick scan and I realized it was Eric Reynolds from high school. The only time I’ve seen/talked to him in the last seven years is when I randomly stayed with him in Seattle during my West Coast road trip a few years back. We hugged and I told him the tall person standing next to me was my brother and then we caught up on life and hugged goodbye. I hope to bump into him in another few years – maybe it can be our “thing.” It was a rush to see someone from high school – most of the time it scares me because I worry I won’t remember whoever it is and they’ll be like, “but we were best friends.”

Best Buy didn’t have the Fleet Foxes album, fyi.

Tonight I met up with one of my high school/current bffs at Panera. We sat by the fireplace and talked for hours – until after the store closed. But we didn’t know or care. When we finally left my heart was so full it hurt. I’m not exactly sure how that works, but I know it to be true.

My heart has been full of love and hurting a lot lately.

I was on the phone with a friend the other day and I confessed to her that as much as I love the holiday season, Christmas always makes me a little sad. Thankfully she understood what I meant even though I’m not sure I understand it myself.

There’s so much more stuff in my head (heart?) but it’s not coming out right now. I think I’ll try my diary instead.

All I know is I’m happy it’s this year and not last year or the year before.

Thank you, baby Jesus.

About Hope Naomi

Lover of all things tea and travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to happy christmas eve.

  1. I like that we’re on a similar page about christmas-ness. It’s cool that you have siblings, I think that might help. It’s just me and my aunts. Ha. And my mom. And some other random people who don’t have a place to go, it’ll be good.

    I want to run into you soon. Let’s set a timeeeeeeeee (okay, more like let’s have plans rather than wait for a serendipitous event to happen to us, like that boy in the record store- or best buy. record store just sounds so much cooler :))

  2. i just love you.

    and miss you a lot.

Leave a Reply

