this week:

Sleeping in a tent with Hosanna at night
Sore throat in the morning
Breakfast at 6:30 a.m.
Soupy beans for dinner
Every.
Night.
Super bowl party
with chips and guac.
Day off…
waking up at 5 a.m.
walking for a half hour
crowded bus ride to Panajachel
breathtaking scenery
chai as soon as we arrived
boat ride
hike
HEAVEN…
an oasis of a place
swimming in the cool lake water
splitting a burrito with Casey
boat ride back
wandering the streets
so many colors
ice cream
(of course)
linking arms with Alyse
so I don’t fall over
on the bus ride home.
Feedback with the teams
(I can tell I’m being used)
A two-team debrief
(I felt alive)
Church on Sunday
(I didn’t want to go)
But it surprised me
God surprised me
We danced during worship
We were out of breath, sweaty.
Then: the sermon was powerful, convicting
At first I wasn’t listening
But the LORD captured my attention, my heart
We went to someone’s house for lunch
One of my favorite things to do
Avocado, tortilla, carne asada
Tour of the house
Walk to the Mandarin tree
Sitting there for a while
Never knowing when we’re going to leave
Play fighting with sticks
Taking pictures.
The other day: sitting with Stacy in her tent, asking questions, speaking truth, watching her tears fall
Knowing this is why I’m squad leading.
Every day
remains the best day of my life
Even though I’m sick
With a parasite and sinus infection
I’m taking antibiotics
and swallowing Apple Vinegar
(apparently it cures a sinus infection?)
We’ll see.
Tomorrow we’re off to El Salvador…
And so the journey continues.

Lake Atilan - Panajachel

About Hope Naomi

Lover of all things tea and travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to this week:

  1. shaynacraze says:

    I love your new writing style. I can picture your day in my head perfectly. Praying for your parasite and sinus infection to go away.

  2. Sydnee says:

    Pana is where I was in guatamala! So beautiful. Love you.

  3. nathan salley tells a story says:

    love your writing. who is your contact there?

Leave a Reply

