more scribbles from my diary…

Sitting with Hosanna
after the sun dipped beneath the ocean
we didn’t say a word
as we listened to the water
dance between the rocks.
The sky on the left was dark, looming
the sky on the right was blue, bright
until it was all black.
I don’t know how long we sat in silence
30 minutes? An hour?
I never felt uncomfortable
on the contrary
I felt completely myself.
Finally we started to move
to get up and go
but instead we stayed and talked
about all sorts of things
being single
travel
adventure
we agreed that 28 would be a good time to get serious with a man
until then there’s so much to do
people to meet and
places to go.
Now is my time
to live, live, live
dangerously
adventurously.
I want to suck the marrow out of life
as some poet once said
(I think.)
When I’m sweaty
with no makeup
no shower
same clothes
day after day
is when I’m in my element
even though I miss being pretty.
Mac and Caitlin thought I was weird
for eating some girl’s leftover sandwich
while she was still around…
I guess I’m different.

El Sunzal, El Salvador

About Hope Naomi

Lover of all things tea and travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to more scribbles from my diary…

  1. Tim Abare says:

    Hope, thanks for using words to create images. Stay strong.

    Now is my time
    to live, live, live
    dangerously
    adventurously.

  2. Anna Notario says:

    love love love.

  3. I love you for you. I love you for being drastically different than the world and different than other missionaries. You’re a gem.

  4. shaynacraze says:

    “What else. Oh I think you’ll appreciate this – I never fully get under the shower water because it’s so cold – I merely splash it on myself. Needless to say I never really get clean. So when you see me in May and think I’m tan I’m probably just dirty”.
    February 17, 2011

    I love your weirdness 🙂

  5. marissavilla says:

    This whole time I thought you sleeping with Hosanna in a tent was code for time with God, or something…who’s the weirdo now?

  6. erin says:

    shayna and i were saying how much we love the poetry-esque posts. it just seems like you can say less and it means more – your words have more weight and are more FULL of LIFE.

    ps…the age of 28 is a GREAT time to meet a man…just sayin…

Leave a Reply

