mmm mmm GOOD!

Riding in the back of a truck
bodies crisscrossed
and on top of each other
my hair is helplessly
tossed by the wind
I can’t help but smile.
Sitting by a beautiful lake
surrounded by volcanoes
wondering once again
how did I get here and
why am I so blessed?
Today Mac and I fasted from food…
until lunch when we were each offered two steaming pupusas
that would’ve been rude to turn down.
I wasn’t even hungry
I wondered why
Why is God spoiling me
STILL
I can’t imagine any better than this.
I’m kind of sad to let go to the past
but not really
because these moments are so rich,
so full
like a steaming pupusa
or two.
Last year during this time
I was scared,
so scared.
Scared of the future,
scared of loneliness.
I was lonely
I realized one night
in Nicarauga
as I listened to Brandi Carlile
and wrote an email to an old friend
while tears soaked my cheeks.
“I just have no idea where or how I’ll fit in when I come back,”
I wrote.
Tonight I’m in El Salvador
listening to Brandi Carlile
writing an email to an old friend
my cheeks are dry
and crinkled
from so much smiling.
“I know it is only getting better,”
I wrote.
My my my…
how the times have changed.

Fake laughter or real?

About Hope Naomi

Lover of all things tea and travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to mmm mmm GOOD!

  1. chelseakim says:

    i love being your old friend. I MISS YOU SO.

  2. jolie says:

    I’m pissed you’re emailing people you told us not to?!?

    fake laughter 🙂

  3. jolie says:

    to clarify, I am not fake laughing at the end of my comment. I am declaring that you were fake laughing in the photo.

    p.s. I am still pissed about the email.

  4. jolie says:

    … but not like SERIOUSLY pissed like a stupid college girl. Because I love you both.

    the end. lol.

  5. sydneerae says:

    Yes, yes, yes. so good. I laughed at the comment of your photo too, miss your funny and deep self.

  6. shaynacraze says:

    I love you. And it looks like fake laughing that turned into real laughing.

  7. my guess is….fake laughter.

    also, you amaze me and love you SO so much. 🙂

  8. Erin Perkins says:

    fake laughter. also, im happy youre finding joy in God and in the life He has given you. very happy. and i love you.

  9. nathan salley tells a story says:

    do you think you could rap this poem to the tune of Dr. Dre in the background? my bet is yes. Also, I went office space on my computer two days ago, dropping cinder blocks from our second floor balcony in downtown denver onto the screen below, all the while listening to system of a down in the background. i think you would have liked it.

Leave a Reply

