mushy jesus stuff.

This past week has been a whirlwind of late nights and long days, of meetings and decisions. I’ve spoken hard words and listened to fragile hearts – both made me cry. Food, sleep and personal hygiene were sacrificed for the bigger picture. I’m completely exhausted in the best possible way. I have nothing left to give physically, emotionally or mentally…yet I have everything to give spiritually. All I have is Jesus, and he has proven himself to be enough.

Jesus. I know I’m always loved by him, but sometimes the butterflies come back. They came back this week. He gives me the small, silly things I pray for in addition to the big, meaningful things I’m too shy to mention. He captures my heart and leaves me in awe, jaw-dropping awe. Like that look Julia Stiles gives Heath Ledger when she discovers he brought in her favorite band to play at prom.

I dyed my hair purple last week. It’s not all purple, but it’s purple enough. I didn’t do it for any specific reason other than I saw a pretty 15-year-old girl with purple hair and wanted to be like her. So I sat in a plastic chair in some woman’s home and paid $6 for purple streaks.

It didn’t mean anything at the time, but now I know it is the representation of what is going on inside of me. I have known my voice for a while but am slow to use it. There is no more time for that…my voice must be heard. The LORD speaks to me and I have a responsibility to deliver those words – no matter how hard they are or how scared I might be.

I’m beginning to see the fruit, the blessing, the inheritance of what he has for me as I continue to follow him deeper and deeper into the Promised Land. Every day I taste the milk on my lips and lick the honey off my hands. Leading this World Race squad is a gift. It’s worth every late night and early morning, every difficult conversation and all the decisions.

I’m halfway through this journey – in the middle of Honduras with tired bones and purple hair.

I wouldn’t have it any other way.

About Hope Naomi

Lover of all things tea and travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to mushy jesus stuff.

  1. shaynacraze says:

    So good! And I bet you’re as cute as Clementine from Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind. 🙂

  2. this is one of the best blogs that i have ever read!! seriously, i so love what is happening in you right now. i wonder if i will even recognize you! but in a good way! Like where i will just stare at you and be so proud!!
    ps. i’d like to see a picture of this purple hair! 🙂

  3. laceypauley says:

    10 things i hate about you is my favorite movie the fact you mentioned it makes me love you even more(if thats possible). seriously though, you’re really great. Praying for this next half of your journey.

  4. Maceylc says:

    You inspire me in every way Hope. I look up to you as I continue on the journey God has set me on and prepare to lead a team this summer 🙂 You’re awesome!

Leave a Reply

