why hello again, USA.

So I’ve been home for 2.5 days. There was a time I wasn’t sure if I would ever make it back – after my last post I had few more plane delays that landed me in a “Super 8” motel in Chicago (compliments of Polish Airlines.) My tears dried up into cynical laughter…everything turned out to be yet another cherry on top.

But here I am now – immersed once again into the life I’ve known before. In some ways it feels like I never left, in other ways it feels like I’m far from what I used to be (ha.)

I’m still in that awkward transition phase where I feel slightly displaced, where I throw toilet paper in the trash can, carry a variety of foreign coins in my purse, respond with “grazie” instead of thank you, get strange looks when I don’t know whatever song is the biggest rage, and wake up in the middle of the night with absolutely no idea where I am (not even which country.) I don’t have a phone yet, which feels oddly normal.

Sometimes I feel awkward around people, like I don’t remember how to talk. Sometimes I feel weepy, which is weird. And sometimes I don’t have an appetite (but of course I still eat.) Other than that I’m probably sane.

I miss my squad.

I got my hair trimmed and dyed today, which was incredibly therapeutic. I try to not define myself by my looks, but damn, after five months of side braids and split ends, it’s just nice to feel pretty. And new.

Italy was an interesting. Not what I expected. It was both better and worse. I walked a lot and ate gelato every day (…sometimes twice a day. Sometimes for breakfast.) I rarely drank water because toilets were so hard to come by (or so expensive.) I was dazzled by old churches, the colosseum and the leaning tower of pisa (among others.)

I got mad at God and I fell in love with him. He was the perfect travel companion – he was patient with me through all my moods. I always felt myself with him and I never felt alone. And he was very romantic.

Tonight, in honor of Italy, I watched Roman Holiday. I’ve seen it before, but this time I was pointing and shrieking, “THE SPANISH STEPS? I’VE BEEN THERE!”

It was very exciting.

then

now!

I’m sure I’ll write much more about Italy over the coming weeks (months?) and I intend to copy and paste excerpts from my diary on this blog (classy, I know.)

Until then, you can be sure to find me throwing TP in the trash and listening to”Somebody That I Used to Know” on repeat. Probably at the same time.

About Hope Naomi

Lover of all things tea and travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to why hello again, USA.

  1. chelseakim says:

    you’re so weird. be my best friend?

  2. Jennifer Zilly says:

    Whadda you mean you been back in da US fo 2.5 days? If dass da truth (and I like to think you ain’t lyin’ to me), den why don’t you answa yo phone, Hob? Girl, you screenin’ yo calls again? Mhmm…

Leave a Reply

