One week anniversary!

This time a week ago I was driving down I-75 on my way to Georgia. I was probably listening to the newest Regina Spektor cd and snacking on warm grapes. Oh and my butt was probably starting to really hurt.

The night before I started to freak out a little bit. I emailed some of my closest friends, “Tomorrow morning I’m driving to Georgia. I’ve been really, really excited about getting back – but in this moment I’m feeling a little anxious. I’m not looking forward to moving/unpacking and I’m worried about being overwhelmed with seeing everyone all at once/jumping back into things right away. So I ask you once again for prayer. Prayer for PEACE and a smooth transition.”

I couldn’t fall asleep that night, so instead I lay in bed and watched Julia Roberts have her own freak-out moments in Eat Pray Love.

All day on the road to Georgia I felt peaceful. And as I entered Gainesville I started to get giddy, excited, hopeful to be back home. Bethany told me to meet her at the Lake House, so I parked my car and went inside…

but wait. Why were there steamers and balloons everywhere? And people hiding behind the couch?

SURPRISE!!!

Yes, that’s right. A surprise “Welcome Home/Belated Birthday” party. I was SHOCKED and overwhelmed in the best way possible. All night I couldn’t stop smiling – my jaw literally hurt when I went to bed. I probably looked like an idiot but I don’t care. Rarely have I experienced such definite moments of being so incredibly and undeservedly loved. 

In January, before I left for the World Race, I wrote on my blog:

Last night was my final night in Gainesville. I had a going away party at the Lake House – few times in life have I felt so loved, supported, accepted, understood…now I’m scared I just lost something I won’t get back…

My last moments in Gainesville were spent saying goodbye at the Lake House, and my first minutes back were spent being embraced at the Lake House.

Isn’t God a beautiful storyteller?

I think so…

Oh and the following morning people helped me move my stuff in what felt like five minutes – I was practically weak in the knees from all the love I felt (…that and walking up and down those stairs probably had something to do with it.)

So yeah. A week ago I was on the road with no idea what was in store that night. Now I’m in Gainesville, getting settling in and starting my new job. I still don’t really know what’s in store…

but that’s what makes a great surprise, amen?

About Hope Naomi

Lover of all things tea and travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to One week anniversary!

  1. Hi Bethany, We love you down here in Nicaragua, too. In case you didn’t know. So what are your plans for the future. Quinta Esperanza is totally changed now. Lots of new, younger kids. Erica, one of our youth leaders who is about to graduate in Psychology from University, is in charge at the Quinta; Carlos’ older sister, Reina, is the cook and lots of good things happening. We have a new Pastor coming to live there with her five kids. Keep us in mind for a missions trip we would love to see you again. Blessings, Lynne and Glenn

  2. Stacy P says:

    SO HAPPY you’re here!!

  3. Allie says:

    best video ever… and I don’t even know if you put it there if if its an advertisement lol

  4. Mac says:

    Love it. That’s some good stuff!

Leave a Reply

