flirting wins.

Thanks for all your responses! They were fun to read and brought up some interesting discussions among my friends here in Georgia. Based on your comments and everyone I talked to (male, female, single, married) the conclusion remains the same: a little flirting goes a long way. One of my friends put herself out there last week – she landed a date three days later. I guess you can’t argue with that…

For those of us females who remain innately awkward around the opposite sex, these tips were recommended by my friend Talia. Her success rate is 100% (aka she’s married.)

Step one: laugh at his jokes

…I can’t believe THAT’S why the chicken crossed the road!!

According to Talia, “Men want to feel like they can conquer the world, so when we laugh at their jokes that’s like saying, ‘Omigosh you invented humor! They should totally put you in charge of world domination.'”

Step two: make him feel interesting and intelligent

Really? a squared plus b squared equals C SQUARED!?

“Men want to know that they can provide for their families. When you make them feel intelligent and interesting, you reaffirm that they are capable enough to get a job to provide.”

Step three: squeeze his bicep

like this

…not this

“This makes them feel big, strong and manly.”

So there you have it.

I thought about putting these 3 steps to the test and writing a followup post with my results, but right now I’m too busy reading Jane Austen novels and crying myself to sleep at night. What?

(Besides, I’m still more likely to accidentally punch and break his bicep rather than squeeze it flirtatiously…once an awkward girl, always an awkward girl. Amen?)

About Hope Naomi

Lover of all things tea and travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to flirting wins.

  1. Hope, this is perfect. Great pictures!

  2. Alexandra says:

    YES!
    I LOVE THIS! IT DOES WORK πŸ™‚

  3. talia says:

    bahahaha, those pictures make me laugh so much!

  4. talia says:

    also i want to see a case test of the three steps!:)

  5. Anna Notario says:

    Bahaha. Oh Hope. I adore you.

  6. Toni-Lyn says:

    What’s wrong with reading Jane Austen and crying myself to sleep!? *sigh*
    This is the order of flirtation: giggle, say something witty, giggle again, blush deep crimson, say something ridiculous, stutter, walk away. (duh!)
    The last time I touched a guy’s arm flirtatiously I blushed so hard I thought my hair would catch fire (insert overly dramatic eye roll). Okay, it was kind of successful in the moment and I blushed fo sho but nothing ended up coming from it.

  7. michael. says:

    i say… lets date!… i mean… wait… im dating your sister !!!! bahahh. win.

  8. Collin says:

    I am not so sure about these steps. Most would work the opposite on me. Lately I have found not flirting to be most effective. However, you do have to show your interest somehow.

  9. Bill Swan says:

    First of all, that’s a tricep grab, not a bicep. You’ve gotta get on the inside if you want the bicep – but that’s definitely a bit more risky. Not to betray my gender, but a few suggestions:
    1. You don’t always have to laugh at the jokes, but definitely don’t roll your eyes or make him feel stupid. Criticism is a major turnoff (different than feedback).
    2. It’ll be a lot more meaningful if you ask his opinion on things rather than just agreeing with what he says. When you ask a man what he thinks and are genuinely interested, that conveys respect of his intelligence and competence.

    Happy Hunting, and may the odds be ever in your favor!

    • ryanS says:

      very good points there

      • ryanS says:

        also… a guy can smell ‘fakeness’ and over-the-top/insincere interest… a mile away.

    • Nate Evans says:

      Billy Swan. You hit the nail on the head with the 2nd one! I find it super annoying when she just agrees with everything I say – I would much rather engage in a meaningful discussion with good questions being asked and listened to.

  10. Daniel says:

    hahah, you are absurd. and i love it.

    this seems a bit too silly to seriously comment, but i have opinions if you’re interested πŸ™‚

  11. Janet Mendola says:

    ha ha ha ha great pictures

  12. Preston says:

    also, don’t lead with anything that implies you want him to meet your parents… its ok if you want him to, but… don’t lead with it!

  13. well hope, don’t you dislike the blogging pressure of having to live up to expectations raised following a popular post? yet, you rose to the occasion. i laughed. good job.

    though i’ve had more than one girl scrupulously follow all three of these sagacious tips guaranteed to prove interest, only to afterwards have them pull the infamous, “let’s just be frieeeends” line. just goes to show you never can tell.

  14. jolie says:

    love you! look at your famous blog!!! πŸ™‚

  15. Victoria says:

    Oh my gosh I love this sooo much. It made me laugh and I agree it is very true if you really think about it. I especially like The Hunger Games reference from Billy Swan!

  16. Seth says:

    Good points and illustrations. So will there be a guest post follow-up blog about the guy’s side of things? Joe seems to have a handle on this and doesn’t seem to mind writing.

  17. Once I’m off the black market (aka the world race no dating policy –even though it still happens) and back on the real market (November 2012) I’m testing this theory.

  18. Ray says:

    Love it!!

  19. Katie says:

    haha im laughing so hard. thank you for inserting the “how to” pics haha. i love you so much. cant wait to see your beautiful face. love the lipstick. xo

Leave a Reply

