2013: another year in the life of my 20s.

I really thought I would be in a relationship by now. But here I am, still trying to figure out how to cook meals for one. Lean Cuisine? Yes please.

I made friends who I thought would be my friends forever – friends I lived with, traveled the world with – but now I don’t even have their phone numbers.

When I was 18 I thought I’d be an actress, at 21 I planned to move to India, at 24 I was certain I’d get into Teach for America. This time last year I was filling out applications to be an au pair in Italy. Or France.

Instead I find myself living in the chicken capital of the world, where they do a “chicken drop” on New Year’s Eve. I still don’t own a dresser, my clothes are stuffed in bins or cardboard boxes. My friendship circle is the smallest it’s ever been, just like all the old people said. I don’t have health insurance…or at least I don’t think I do. Obama? Anyone?

Most of my friends are married. Buying houses. Having kids. Adopting kids. Moving to Denver.

I still get nervous when I have to get an oil change.

Sometimes I wonder why I don’t run away to New York, Paris, or Australia while I still can. Why not go to the woods for 2 months to try and write a book?

The other night I pulled up the website to Sarah Lawrence College. I had to put it away because thoughts, dreams, ideas started tempting me.

I love my job and I anticipate doing it for a while. I’ve found a community where I belong and I don’t take it for granted. That’s what stops me from doing something like hitchhiking to Brazil (…also the fact that I’d probably show up unconscious in the back of someone’s trunk.)

At the end of the day, I have chosen depth of relationship over the glamour of independent travel/adventure. Because when I lock my keys in my car on Thanksgiving and want to cry, my friend’s husband waits with me for the locksmith and tells me stories about the stupid things he’s done. And when I’m sick in bed my roommate practically spoon feeds me Nyquil. And when I need advice about boys, my mentor gives it to me straight. And my boss believes in me. And I could go on and on.

Sometimes I wonder, worry, question, compare – is this what I should be doing? How much money should I have in my savings account? I still don’t know what a 401k is? By the time I get married, will I have any eggs left? Will I ever live in a city where I can walk places? Are iPhones taking over the world? – but then I look at the people around me and it’s all okay. I may not have a house or a husband, but I do have relationships that matter.

So here’s to another year of being in my 20s, of cooking by myself and having no idea what’s in store. Bring it on.

pic

About Hope Naomi

Lover of all things tea and travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to 2013: another year in the life of my 20s.

  1. LOVE this Hope!! You have such an incredible way with words and articulating your heart with beauty and passion. Please write more. 🙂 Love you beautiful friend.

  2. we do not do a chicken drop also i’m so glad that you chose relationships, i would be so sad if you left.

  3. suzyhachey says:

    ooooh, shoot, lady!!

    this. this is a gem of a post because it’s real and it’s you, andalso because….i can totally, 150% relate, and that’s refreshing. i may not be in Georgia {…yet}, but…i am only a phone or Skype call away. we can eat our frozen Lean Cuisine meals together. as i sit here coughing up a lung on my mom’s basement couch, with freshly painted nails and more Robitussin than i should be drinking {NyQuil is probably a stronger choice}, i’m ever grateful for the reminder that deep relationships are the most meaningful part of all of this. this thing called life, that God lets us do. that reminder was ushered in by YOU, and it’s made me stop and thank God and ask Him for more, like a child does to their parent after a small first helping of mac n’ cheese. anyway…i agree with bethany. your gift with words is incredible. please never stop writing to us. {or to whomever it is you write.}

    oh, & i love you. let that resonate somewhere, and let the mystery of what is or isn’t to come keep you wide-eyed and surprised.

  4. Kacie Lynn says:

    🙂 you inspire me all the time, Hope. all the time. Love your heart and your words and the way you see the world.

  5. Mac says:

    You don’t have my phone number? Rude.

  6. Hopie i love your words and most of all you thanks for being you

  7. chelseakim says:

    lol @mac and @talia.

    hopeeeeee. just come live with me and all your life problems will be solved.

  8. Stephanie says:

    Hope, this is absolutely beautiful. I’ve been asking so many of those questions in these last few weeks. There are so many things I don’t know, and the ‘should’s’ are overwhelming sometimes, with the things that I feel like I ‘should’ be doing or know by now. I love that you’re embracing this season as the beautiful season that it is. You really are an inspiration. I’m so grateful for you and your truthful words.

  9. I’m glad that you’re here in the Chicken capital of the world, Hope! You bring joy and fun and laughter and creativity into my life and so many others!!

  10. Katie Howard says:

    Love this. Love you. I miss you. And the day will come for your “singled-out” life to come to an end. Just be patient. God is good. Have a great day.

  11. Alisa Prox says:

    Ummmm…I just love this and I just love you. Also, I have been keeping up with your blogs and they bless me oh so much. Thank you for writing your thoughts down in a real and raw way. You are pretty awesome and Jesus keeps using you in BIG ways (even if you do not see it all the time- He does). Just saying.

  12. aleighb says:

    It’s funny how so many people live the same life just thousands of miles apart. Especially the single and utterly small froup of friends part. 🙂 Except while your friends are moving to Denver (which you should tell me who those people are because that’s where I’m at) mine are going to Georgia. Hah.

  13. aleighb says:

    And, ps, the cooking for one, not a biggie. Half your recipes and freeze what you don’t eat – then you’ll always have something delicious in your freezer for when you don’t want to cook!

  14. shaynacraze says:

    I love that we’re in this single thing together.

  15. Alexandra says:

    Hope, I love this! I am asking myself all the same questions and still don’t have any freaking answers…what the hell!!!!

    I love you and your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

