family vacay.

Every summer my family travels to Lake Michigan for vacation. We’ve dabbled in different areas – New Buffalo, South Haven, Grand Haven. Lately we’ve landed on Grand Haven.

Sometimes I’m embarrassed when I tell people I’m going to Michigan for vacation. Because… it’s Michigan. (Cloudy. Not Colorado. 8 Mile. Need I say more??)

But when I’m there I remember how much I actually like it. The sand is soft, the sun isn’t too hot and there aren’t any sharks. My family rents a house within walking distance to town, which is lined with Mom and Pop shops.

Grand Haven feels low maintenance, which fits my family well. There are a lot of us, so high maintenance was never much of an option. Give us Pop-Tarts and board games and we’re good to go.

The day we arrived my 17-year-old brother, Paul, convinced me to watch Star Wars with him. Now I like Star Wars as much as the next person, but it’s been a while and I wanted to start from the beginning (aka A New Hope, because we all know that’s where it really began. Can I get an amen???)

But my brother wouldn’t budge, so we watched Return of the Jedi instead. (Ewoks! I want one!)

The next morning I ate Cap’n Crunch with these cuties:

capncrunch

(That hair!!)

The rest of vacation looked like this: Insanity in the morning with my dad, beach in the afternoon, Froyo every night, walks around town or to the pier, board games (Monopoly, Wits and Wagers, Balderdash, Scattergories, Taboo.) Oh and we went to brunch once or twice. Noms.

sisters

beachbabes

pierwithhaven

bros

lunch

brunch

monopoly

One more thing.

Every year, my dad makes the biggest sand castle on the beach. My family becomes a hit because of this. The little kids love it, the teenagers are speechless (or they cuss about how cool it is), the parents are jealous they didn’t do it themselves.

People take pictures. One guy even used it as a landmark when he was giving directions on the phone.

It’s kind of a big deal.

sandcastle

Oh, but that was just day 1.

This is what he debuted the last day we were there…

thebest

If you’ll notice, it actually has a face.

thebest2

That about sums it up. All in all, another fabulous vacation in Michigan.

Until next year…

walkingwithmarie

About Hope Naomi

Lover of all things tea and travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to family vacay.

  1. buntingtr1 says:

    omigosh I want to go on vacation with you guys! so much fun!

  2. Ashley H says:

    Kyle and I went there for a long weekend last year, and it was so wonderful! We rented bikes, and I walked to the coffee shop every morning for coffee! Glad your family loves it there. I hope you had a refreshing time!

  3. Alys Seay says:

    Ha, those sand castles are epic! I love vacationing vicariously through you:)

Leave a Reply

