it’s the most wonderful time of the year…

Life has been crazy, beautiful, out-of-control. Or maybe I’ve been a little out-of-control?? Late nights and lots of food and long car rides.

I’m the kind of person who LOVES saying yes to everything – not out of obligation or people pleasing, but because I want to taste everything, do everything, see everything. The Enneagram Test describes my personality as “a kid in a candy store who looks at the world in wide-eyed, rapt anticipation of all the good things she is about to experience.”

balisunset2

That one time I was in Bali… aka candy store.

Last year I burnt myself out by saying yes to everything, so this year I practiced having boundaries. I did pretty well with said boundaries… until this month. I don’t know exactly what happened. I blame Christmas. The magic seduced me!

nyc

Christmastime in NYC.

In November I went from Malaysia to Indonesia to New York City. I landed back in Atlanta on December 1, and the weeks that followed were a blur of Christmas parties and going away parties and birthday parties and Hanukkah parties. (And a flash mob.)

christmasparty

SEQUINSSS

I wore fake eye lashes for the first time (twice in one week.) Made a Micky D’s run at 2am (and then stayed up til 5am.) Went on a night hike (stargazing & s’mores included.)

I went a little crazy. And I loved it.

But now it’s time to slow down and say no again. So here I am at Panera, next to the fire, with a cup of hot chocolate.

Yesterday I went to the movies by myself. The weather was chilly and overcast – the perfect temperature for a Saturday afternoon movie. I ate Dove Dark Chocolate and put my feet on the seat in front of me and cried a tear or two.

wild.

When I came home I fell asleep on the couch with my mom’s puppy in my lap. At night I went to Jolie’s (my bff from college) – we sat on her couch in our sweatpants, drinking chai, and talking about life like old friends do.

Today I’m wearing the same pair of yoga pants for the third day in a row… aka I’m doing something right. (Any day I don’t have to put on “real” clothes is a win indeed.) I’m also wearing big, comfy winter boots and my hair is in a ponytail. I went to the mall like that and felt like a rock star.

Later my mom and I are going somewhere cheap(ish) & delicious for dinner.

Other than that, I hardly have any plans during the next few days. I might paint my nails or make some banana bread. I’m slowing down and it feels good.

Here’s to day #4 in yoga pants…

About Hope Naomi

Lover of all things tea and travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to it’s the most wonderful time of the year…

  1. Sooo, what you’re saying is it’s too late to ask you to come visit me in Florida with some of that dark chocolate?? (I mean you know how much I enjoy chocolate lol) haha It was worth a shot…tell me when you’re ready to say yes again! haha

  2. Ryan says:

    I love reading your blogs! Feel blessed and thankful to call you friend!

    Ry

  3. Yay for yoga pants! Haha love this

  4. chris says:

    Perfection..

  5. alysseay says:

    I love the way you get swept up in wonder and fun… It’s so good. Love you Hope

  6. Anna Notario says:

    Third day in a row in yoga pants too! Love ya!

Leave a Reply

