29 and oh-so fine.

I turned 29 a few days ago.

When I turned 25 I decided I was going to embrace aging. Instead of complaining about it I would celebrate it.

old-people

That worked out well for 25, 26, 27 and 28… but a few weeks before turning 29 I was like OMG. 29 is practically 30. I started thinking about wrinkles. And cats. And how young 20’s-somethings will scrunch their nose and think, “she’s thirty?” when they find out. Just like I used to do.

28 felt sexy… 29 sounded scary.

But then I realized a few things. 1) My friends are aging with me – aka nobody is getting any younger! 2) I’m still me. 29 doesn’t make me any less cool. Nothing can stop that!

11351273_10101952399946757_6842979896815740225_n

So 29 it was. But how would I celebrate?

Last year I had an epic birthday. I was worried this year wouldn’t compare – especially since I had to work most of the day (it was a Saturday but I had training camp.)

Thankfully, I had the night off.

At first I thought about doing a small-ish dinner party, similar to what I did last year. Or did I want a big birthday blowout?

Birthday blowout, hands down.

I asked my girl Kelly (pictured above) to plan it for me. And then I shamelessly put flyers all over the office… on bathroom doors, in bathroom stalls, the usual. There was a Facebook invite as well as an update in our Gainesville Facebook group.

The day of my birthday one of my friends jokingly posted the following:

Screen Shot 2015-06-01 at 11.16.45 PM

Har har.

Before I jump to the party, I need to tell you how my day started!

I woke up and opened my door to this…

balloons

balloons2

…is that not the best way to start off your birthday? My roommate Brian was the mastermind.

THEN I walked outside to this…

confetti2

My friend / coworker Tiffany did this one. (Shoutout to Katelyn for the photo!)

Needless to say, there was confetti falling out of my hair / shirt / shorts the rest of the day.

confetti

The morning consisted of Tiffany asking me to be a bridesmaid in her wedding! Followed by breakfast at a local restaurant on the square.

bridesmaid

brekky2

brekky

Goat cheese veggie omelette? Yes pleaseeeee.

After breakfast Tiffany and I trained our trip leaders from 9-5. We had a picnic lunch – the weather was perfect!

Before dropping me off at my house, Tiff treated me to a green tea frappe. My favorite.

starbucks

Kelly and her party planning team came over to get the house ready for the evening festivities. Ribbon! Flowers! Sparklers! Snacks!

I got ready (dress, hair, makeup, etc) – Kate curled my hair while my roommate Miles cooked me steak.

Then: THE PARTY.

I love people. Especially people I know… even if only a little bit.

I love people from different groups coming together.

So many people came together at my party!

My heart was so full.

oxen

It was a night of food and music and friends. Oh and everyone dressed up. Just the way I like it.

My goal was to stay up til 1am… I ended up crashing at 12:30. Hey, I’m 29 now. Need mah sleep.

The funny thing is this: most people thought I was turning 30! I received so many cards that said something about 3o and new decades and yadda yadda yadda. Even one of my closer friends was like, “so how does it feel to be 30 now?” (Jeremy Cearbaugh cough cough.)

Not sure where people got that crazy idea. When I turn 30 I’m going to throw more than just a party. (Destination birthday, anyone?)

In the meantime, 29 is where it’s at. Yes, I’m single. No, I don’t know where I’m living come September. Sure, things are up in the air with relationships and work.

However. 

I’m alive and loved. What more can a girl ask for?

blowout

photo cred: johnfrank.

 

About Hope Naomi

Lover of all things tea and travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 29 and oh-so fine.

  1. alysseay says:

    Sooooooo fun. Wish I could’ve been there to give you a birthday hug!

  2. Anna Notario says:

    Gah i’m obsessed with you! Happiest birthdays!

  3. Matt says:

    Now THAT’s a good blog

  4. Could have asked for me…..j/k. Glad it was a blast! I turn 30 this year! YAY!

  5. Woah woah woah, I don’t remember saying anything about 30! Did I!? So embarrassing.

  6. everyone loves you so much!!! happy last year of your third decade of life!!!!

  7. jmarierobbins says:

    Nice! I recently turned 29 as well. 🙂 Planning on having a great last year of my 20s and bringing in my 30s with bang! Keep celebrating every day and happy belated birthday!

  8. Pingback: on spending my 30th birthday ALONE: | Far from what I once was…

Leave a Reply

