an update of sorts.

Yesterday I drove from Georgia to Ohio. Ten hours in the car, alone. I started by swerving through backcountry roads and singing Adele at the top of my lungs. Her song “Sweetest Devotion” is my jam. It will probably be the first dance song at my wedding. That, or “Shut Up and Dance.” (Clearly.)

After singing the same songs 13 times in a row, I replaced Adele with Mindy Kaling’s audiobook, Why Not Me. I’ve only listened to part of an audiobook once before in my life, during the summer of 2007 when I was driving to Michigan by myself. At that time I was in the process of re-reading the entire Harry Potter series in preparation for the release of book #7.

Those were the days.

Here’s my question: am I allowed to say I’ve read a book, when in reality I’ve only listened to it? It just seems suspicious to me. Like walking a mile and telling people I ran one. THERE’S A DIFFERENCE. One takes more effort.

I’m kind of a purist when it comes to books. I say kind of because I will admit to having read a handful of books on a Kindle when I was traveling in 2012. Gasp. In general, however, I will always choose pages over percentages. If you know what I mean. (And I think you do.)

I spent the rest of my road trip listening to Mindy, calling friends, and stopping for pee breaks.

Now that I’m at my parent’s house, I intend to spend as much time in my yoga pants as possible. I lose points every time I put on a real pair of pants. And yes, I’m fully aware I’m losing points in heaven each time I wear yoga paints. You win some, you lose some.

Also while I’m here I plan to finish the book I’ve been reading (I’ve been reading it for so long I had to return it to the library and buy it on Amazon), reflect on 2015, make goals for 2016 (one of them will be to read faster), see friends/family, make a bomb quiche for Christmas morning, and try not to gain 5 pounds. That last one is really flexible though. Because, yoga paints.

Okay well, it’s late and I have a big day ahead of me tomorrow. I’m going to a movie before noon. Gotta make sure I’m well rested for that.

Over and out.

About Hope Naomi

Lover of all things tea and travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to an update of sorts.

  1. Tara Truitt says:

    Haha- enjoyed this! Enjoy the yoga pant time! I always look forward to free food and snacks at my parents house- no snack budget at my apt haha.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. liziclem says:

    “And yes, I’m fully aware I’m losing points in heaven each time I wear yoga paints.” This is my favorite. Cheers to yoga pants and christmas!

Leave a Reply

