2016 and feeling fine.

We are two and a half weeks into 2016 and I’m feeling pretty good about it. I’m being more intentional with my life, more proactive about my values. Last year I felt mostly reactive to everything around me – work, relationships, etcetera. This year is different.

I finally finished that book I started a few months ago – All the Light We Cannot See. SO GOOD. So so good. Everyone should read it.

all-the-light-we-cannot-see-9781476746586_hr

I also started listening to audiobooks when I workout (hello, Audible!) So far this year I’ve finished Sounds Like Me: My Life (So Far) in Song by Sara Bareilles and I’m nearly halfway through On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft by Stephen King. I like audiobooks when the author reads his or her own work. It feels more real, more intimate, between us.

43272e63-24bf-4f8a-ae34-04afb94bfe11

I’ve started doing 12 pushups in a row (instead of my meager 10 or 11.) My goal is 20 consecutive pushups and 3 consecutive pull-ups. I’ve never done a pull-up in my life, so we’ll see. (I got a team together for the Savage Race, so I have some inspiration.)

I’ve been cooking more. As a bachelorette, my go-to is eggs or yogurt for breakfast, salads or turkey sandwiches for lunch, and veggie burgers, chicken, or fish for dinner. It gets old.

So far this year I’ve cooked a mushroom & artichoke heart quiche, baked banana bread oatmeal, sweet potato and black bean enchiladas, and quinoa and cauliflower chowder. Not to brag or anything. (But maybe a little.)

ba0bd563-a4cf-4641-879b-f816ec99ef0c

noms

ea254998-4166-4427-b71d-b1e38176f176

more noms

I dyed my hair purple on January 1. The most commonly asked questions when you dye your hair purple are “do you like it?” and “why did you do it?” The answers are simply yes and why not?

But really, it actually took 3 tries to get my hair the color I wanted (I paid a hair stylist to do it) and the reason is because my inner rockstar was clawing her way out. I had to release her. Also, I just like dying my hair to represent change. It’s a new year.

81af55ef-a4ec-4edb-ad18-01a0ba3ffbb3

3rd times a charm…

In general, I’ve been creating more space for myself. Going from 5 roommates and a baby to 2 roommates and no baby does that to you. I woke up yesterday (Saturday) to an empty house and thought, “now what?” I cleaned, wrote, and read. There even may have  been a nap in there. It felt scandalous.

I leave for Malaysia a week from tomorrow. It will be my 4th time. I’ve already started a pile in my room – things to bring out to the participants, but more importantly, snacks. So far I have baked kale chips, Boom Chicka Pop popcorn, and Annie’s Organic cheddar bunnies. Yeah, I go big.

When I come back it will be February, my least favorite month of the year. At least it’s the shortest month. Except it’s Leap Year, so there’s an extra day womp womp. (They already have Valentine’s Day candy out, in case you are wondering.)

Thankfully, new episodes of Jane the Virgin will be airing then. So I think I’ll make it through.

All in all, 2016 is cruising by and I don’t have much to complain about. Hollaaa!

About Hope Naomi

Lover of all things tea and travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2016 and feeling fine.

  1. Ryan says:

    Your awesome! Miss ya Hope!

  2. alysseay says:

    I’m excited for you Hope! Sounds like the fruit is coming after a winter season:) Love you

Leave a Reply

