2016: a year in lists

I’m one of those people who remembers the oddest things that no one recalls, but can’t remember most of my life beyond the high or low moments. Because of that I try to keep lists… otherwise did it happen? Exactly. (I can only imagine when I’m 80…)

Here’s a snapshot of some things from 2016!

Concerts:
Rend Collective – Atlanta
Hillsong United – Atlanta
John Mark McMillan/Mat Kearney/Needtobreathe – Red Rocks, Colorado
Ingrid Michaelson – Atlanta

Books:
Sounds Like Me: My Life So Far in Song by Sara Bareilles (Audible)
On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft by Stephen King (Audible)
The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins
A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith
Sacred Rhythms by Ruth Barton
Into Thin Air by Jon Krakauer
When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi
Into the Wild by Jon Krakauer
The Paris Wife by Paula McLain
Crash the Chatterbox by Steven Furtick
Present over Perfect by Shauna Niequist
Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott
The Supernatural Power of a Transformed Mind by Bill Johnson

Started but didn’t finish:

Necessary Endings by Dr. Henry Cloud
Strengthening the Soul of Your Leadership by Ruth Barton (Audible)
The Complete Short Stories of Ernest Hemingway (I’m 1/4 the way though… it’s more than 600 pages!)
My Life on the Road by Gloria Steinem (going on the 2017 list of books I read…)

Movies seen in a theater:
Captain America: Civil War
Finding Dory
Me Before You
The Shallows
The Edge of Seventeen
Rouge One: A Star Wars Story
Passengers
Moana

States visited:
Ohio (Columbus)
Colorado (Denver, Golden, Estes Park)
Utah (Moab)
Florida (Pensacola)
North Carolina (Asheville, High Point, Matthews)

Countries visited:
Malaysia (4th time)
Nepal (1st time!!)
South Africa (3rd time)
England (1st!)
Scotland (1st!)
Ecuador (3rd time)
Nicaragua (3rd time)

**once again, I visited more countries than states!

Cool things (in chronological order):
Ran the Savage Race
Became CPR certified (3rd time? 4th?)
Got into indoor rock climbing (conquered a 5.8)
Trekked the Mardi Hamal trail in the Himalayas (made it to 14,600-ish feet)
Got my second tattoo
Dyed my hair blonde(er)
Got a boyfriend
Turned 30
Saw Les Misérables in London (life.changed.)
Started using Instagram (I know, I know…)
Stood as the maid of honor in my sister’s wedding
Got a car from this decade
Loped/galloped on a horse (nearly peed my pants)
Hiked to Chasm Lake in Rocky Mountain National Park (nearly 12,000 ft)
Hiked through Arches National Park, Canyonlands National Park, and Dead Horse State Park in Utah
Went zip lining in Ecuador
Got 3rd place in a blog contest

…also, I think this was the first year I didn’t purchase a CD. So, there’s that.

Bring on 2017!

tumblr_static_tumblr_static_6ze1fhac2tk4w8ogs0c40g0ss_640
P.S. would love to hear what books you’ve read, movies you’ve seen, places you’ve visited, etc etc…

About Hope Naomi

Lover of all things tea and travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to 2016: a year in lists

  1. sara choe says:

    i read when breath becomes air. 😭 i went to montreal and ottawa. got a boyfriend when i turned 33. saw age of shadows (밀 정) and the jungle book in the theaters.

  2. I love your lists! I’m right there with you…if I don’t write it down I can’t remember what happened! You had an awesome year, I have a feeling 2017 could top it. 😉

  3. Mac says:

    How have you not seen La La Land yet? I know…you’re waiting until January or something. But…friend…you need to go see it today. Like, tonight.

    Also…thoughts on Into Thin Air?

    • Hope Naomi says:

      Haha La La Land sooooooon!

      At first I started typing “I LOVED Into Thin Air…” but then I erased it.
      I *liked* Into Thin Air because it’s an intriguing story, informative about Everest, and I like how John Krakauer writes.
      It also made me angry/depressed/ask God WHY DO BAD THINGS HAPPEN TO GOOD PEOPLE… so there’s that.

  4. Talia says:

    meh, I guess thats a good year. JK.:) Love you!

  5. Brant Copen says:

    Heck yeah! I love the lists haha! I was just saying last night that one of my favorite parts of 2016 was our trip to Nepal! Man, that was epic. Also, good job reading Kraukauer, I hope you loved it as much as I do.

    • Hope Naomi says:

      Yas Nepal. So so good.

      Also, I’m pretty sure I *do* enjoy Kraukauer as much as you — you were the one who inspired me to read his stuff! (…do have any other book recommendations?? )

Leave a Reply

