on being really, really happy:

Two years ago one of my friends made a comment about how my blogs were always about me struggling or going through a hard time.

I was offended.

But I knew he was right.

The last few years have been tough. I thought 2015 was bad, but then 2016 happened. There were times I thought the pain would swallow me whole.

Amidst my suffering I wrote, “Jesus told me I will experience the same amount of joy as pain I have felt; to the depth of pain I will feel the height of joy.”

That was August.

Less than a year later those words have come to pass – I’m currently experiencing so much joy I could drown in it. I used to cry myself to sleep, now I can’t fall asleep because I’m so happy.

Yes, it’s because I’m engaged. But it’s also so much more.

My soul has made it through the dark of night. As Streams in the Desert says, “The person who may appear to be blessed, having been untouched by sorrow, is typically not one who is strong and at peace.”

I truly believe the joy I am experiencing has come at the expense of my tear-stained journals. It is only because I have weathered the storm that I am able to bask in the warmth of morning.

It’s better than I could have ever imagined.

Everything inside me that was shaky and aching is now secure and whole. The desires that haunted me are now fulfilled and overflowing.

There is a time and season for everything indeed.

A little over a month ago I attended a small women’s conference in Texas. Upon arrival, I was given a word in a picture frame, chosen just for me.

The word?

Pasted Image 0.jpeg

About Hope Naomi

Lover of all things tea and travel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to on being really, really happy:

  1. alysseay says:

    Love this so much Hope:)

  2. Ryan says:

    You always inspire me Hope, I feel we are so similar that we could be brother and sister! I’m so incredibly happy for you and Justin – I truly am! I will be in Georgia May 28th-June 3rd! We should all do a double date and go jet skiing! My girlfriend’s parents live in Cumming! You are a blessing and i’m so blessed to have a friend and sister like you! I can’t wait for MJ to meet you! PS – she’s from Ohio!!! Hope to see you and Justin soon! – Ry

  3. jmminor says:

    I love your honesty in your blogs. I’m grateful that you are bold enough to share your journey. I have personally felt I have been in a valley season for a while and your blogs have always given me a bit of Hope. (Just realized how perfect that sounds). Thank you for sharing the highs and the lows. It means a lot, more than you may ever realize.

Leave a Reply

